.

OPINION: Shame On Supervisors Benoit, Tavaglione and Ashley

What’s next? Fast-track a dump next to the quarry? A nuclear plant in Anza? Wind turbines along Highway 79? Guys, are you planning to follow CEQA laws?

Was there ever a doubt that we won? NO!

It cannot be undone. Granite Construction is still the loser.

Now, comes the slimy stuff: First, Riverside County Supervisor John Tavaglione’s flip-flop to the dark side to vote with his colleagues, Supervisors John Benoit and Marion Ashley, to certify the Environmental Impact Report for the project. Then, slick as can be, Granite Construction steps in with a revised, slightly smaller, application for a mine and wants to “As “luck” would have it, they have a certified EIR. Not only has the music died, it is buried deep in a morass of lies and deceit.

Next move on this "BOS" chessboard, Benoit makes a motion to amend the existing fast-track ordinance to allow surface mines to be included. Liberty, by the way, is NOT a surface mine. It is a deep open pit mine. Then, what do you know, Tavaglione suggests, ”Why not fast-track other projects as well?” 

No surprise, the next move was for the “Three Stooges” to vote in favor of the fast-track motion; Supervisors Jeff Stone and Bob Buster were the two dissenters. The final vote is still to come.

This arrogance is disturbing. If these three men are allowed to brazenly change the rules to satisfy Granite, what does that say about their integrity? It is disgusting and simply outrageous.

What’s next? Fast-track a dump next to the quarry? A nuclear plant in Anza? Wind turbines along Highway 79? Guys, are you planning to follow CEQA laws?

There are reasons for the current laws and rules, and ordinances are in place. There are reasons for sensitive projects like mines and landfills to be carefully evaluated as to their effects on the surrounding areas and communities. But you all know that. You just don’t care … and as such, you should not be representing the people. You just want to make the way easier for the “Granites” of this world.

I quote Gandhi, “There is sufficiency in this world for man’s need, but not for man’s greed."

Supervisors, what you do speaks louder than what you say.

Shame, shame on all of you.

Jerri Arganda, Rainbow resident

Eis Family September 06, 2012 at 01:22 AM
I don't particularly object to the quarry, and I still think this is an egregious breach of due process. Legal action is the only appropriate way to respond, combined with electoral retribution. Get rid of these sneaks.
T120Dude September 06, 2012 at 02:33 AM
How would one put a nuclear plant in Anza?? There needs to be a ton of water to cool down those reactors. And wind turbines aren't all that bad either.
KB September 06, 2012 at 04:26 AM
We need these protesters to show these signs on the Temecula Parkway and Winchester during rush hour(s).
djschristensen3 September 06, 2012 at 05:25 AM
It all comes down to the politicians not giving a rats ass about what the people of the city, the ones who are affected physically, and financially want. How can we get these three recalled. Let's call KFI 640 and ask John and Ken!
Tumblingdie September 06, 2012 at 11:53 AM
There must be some legal remedy to get these clowns out of office or to get this motion overturned! Recall, impeachment, appeal; whatever it takes to have the will of the people respected and enforced is a course of action we need to pursue!
5150 September 06, 2012 at 01:22 PM
Need to have recall and fire the scum bags
Mike September 06, 2012 at 02:35 PM
Just follow the $ , has anyone audited these judas councilmen? Check for big gifts, donations, extra cash , checks from the mininning companies,... We need our own county seperate from riverside, and lastly cheap electrical rates start with each home owner.... You think homes around San onofre get a cheaper rate on electrical ????? Thats like saying because you live next to a restaurant you get lower priced meals???
Scott September 06, 2012 at 03:18 PM
I know that Granite reads this board so this message is for them: .........Senate committee passes bill AB 742 Yes, it is in limbo now but it will eventually go through. BY the way, in the meantime dont forget that the "certified" environmental report WILL be shot down by the TWO lawsuits that are pending. As well, rumors are that potential criminal investigations may manifest once new elected members are in office. No, you will not put a quarry in our city.
Rich Loomis September 06, 2012 at 03:26 PM
Rich Loomis I really find what is being said funny. We all have the way before us, it is called study the person you hope to get the office your voting for and then vote to help him or her to accomplish what it is that you want. These people all are voted in, that is correct but they are our employees as they work for us. So, don't complain, remember you voted for the person your now objecting to. Granite has every right to have (if approved) a quarry. Temecula has the need to have aggregated close so it doesn't cost much. and the people who need jobs are going to be able to get a good paying job, I think that this is the way it should work. So, relax.
Lash LaRue September 06, 2012 at 03:31 PM
A nuclear plant in Anza? Good pay jobs coming to Anza I am all for that. Wind turbines along Highway 79? Good Idea green energy.
SPB September 06, 2012 at 03:54 PM
Your understanding of how the county board of supervisors work is wrong. The county is split up into 5 districts. Temecula's representative is Jeff Stone. He has been against this thing through the whole process. The people who are seeking to allow the mine south of Temecula are not beholden to Temecula voters, hence, its not as easy as just voting them out next time. Granite does not have every right to a quarry. Many businesses are prohibited from operating near large population centers, and this giant mine should be one of them. Jobs is not an excuse. If jobs is out concern, why not just pay a bunch of people to tear all of the trees out of Temecula? Sure, it will ruin the beauty of the city, but hey, Jobs are the only thing we should consider when making landscape and quality of life level decisions. Makes total sense....
BST September 06, 2012 at 04:04 PM
My thoughts too! I think there is money or favors given somehow for these 3 to be so anxious to get this granite thing moving. you are sooo right!! I laughed when someone wrote,lower rates if a nuke plant went in...lol
BST September 06, 2012 at 04:08 PM
I think we should try and break free from Riverside County....they are ruining our city...with some input from our own council though. What they want to do with Wine Country is a crime...making it into a amusement park of wineriers...please. Wine should be enjoyed in beautiful,quiet surroundings...not a outdoor bar seen.
Diane Johnson September 06, 2012 at 05:40 PM
You might as well throw Jeff Stone in there too. Add a Church and they are doing the same thing with Calvary. Ignoring ordinances, changing the rules to include a Church and school in an Ag Zone. Granite is lining the 3 stooges pockets and Calvary is lining Stone's pockets. "There is sufficiency in this world for man’s need, but not for man’s greed" Well spoken
anotherview September 06, 2012 at 06:02 PM
As a corporation, GCI could not care less about the local hostility toward it and the concerns expressed responding to this opinion piece. GCI exists to seek profit. It does so from two motives. One, the GCI leadership must show a profit from operations, to please shareholders. Two, as a cog in the workings of the capitalist market order, GCI will find its place and ensure its survival via moneymaking. This dynamic governs virtually all GCI actions. If you believe otherwise, then you dupe yourself. The most useful response to the GCI intention to put its unwanted proposed quarry operation in the hills south of the City of Temecula will involve strong actions in the legal and political arenas, where the effective rules play out. Meanwhile, recognize that turncoats like Riverside County Supervisor Tavaglione represent pawns in this contest; as well, this weasel has acted in accord with the furtherance of his own interest in seeking higher office. Because of its known underhandedness in pursuing its interests, GCI most likely influenced this unprincipled weasel by the customary offerings which he lapped up. GCI knows it has a big fight on its hands. All parties opposing the odious proposed GCI quarry must man up to this fight. The unity of the community may certainly defeat this proposed GCI project.
TVOR September 06, 2012 at 07:15 PM
For granite to claim they want to open this mine to serve the needs of the area is about as bad as Obummer claiming to have created over 4 million jobs. Its a crock of sh!t.
LHJ September 06, 2012 at 07:20 PM
It's a political trend.. What citizens think, vote and want are no where near what the politicians want. Therefore, it really doesn't matter. The Republican party, in order to get what they wanted, changed the rules mid-stream to blockade a serious contender, the DNC ignored the vote of the delegates in a vote on amendments to their platform.. Video link below.. (by the way, it was a Californian in the video) http://youtu.be/5n4oPjlecgc It's nothing more than our politicians, at all levels ignoring the rules, dictating what they want and nothing else.. Our government goes to war and overthrows other governments (in the name of democracy), with our government proclaiming "we are "protecting" the rights of human beings, while (in our own country) our government is employing the very same tactics against the wishes of our own population (completely disregarding our rights, while proclaiming democracy).. For those who don't vote, this is what we have come to, because the politicians know we won't demand that they follow the rules. If we don't start holding these politicians accountable for their violations of the rules, we have no room to complain about the corruption, that is blatantly (even on video) playing out all across this nation, not only in Riverside County. WAKE UP !!! When we millions of people eligible to vote, and thousands actually do vote, it tells politicians we don't really care, not voting is voting for whomever wins..
David Shisler September 06, 2012 at 08:48 PM
At one time Riverside County was very beautiful, especially the lower desert. Look at this area now it's all windfarms it will never be the same. The county is known for quarries, Temecula will have no problem getting what ever rock it needs, either way you look on I-15 there are quarries. The Sups. decision is all polical.
SuzAnne September 06, 2012 at 09:42 PM
Jobs? what makes you think they will have job openings? these companies hire from within and already have employees to do the job, any hiring from the outside will be minimal. So dont believe the "it will provide jobs" for people like that is all sparkling and glitzy woo hoo for people to then say , well okaayyy it provides jobs, so lets okay the quarry.... What?! we are stupid like that? Nope--not in my book we are not. It will be minimal jobs at best. And for the record I didnt vote these donkerheads. There are jobs in Temecula but often people are too lazy or feel they want to hold out for something better, classier, pays better, hey if your out of a job and your hungry and bills need to be paid, any job will pay more then what you have in your empty pocket, stop waiting..... And to say "So, relax" this a term people use to say shut up (in a polite way) and to say go away... You dont want to hear us... I wont be shut up and I have a right to speak my mind. Though we are part of Riverside, I dislike that these three are doing this to Temecula. Just my humble opinion.
Jim September 06, 2012 at 10:55 PM
@ Paul or anyone. What does it mean when you say Temecula city council gave up its "sphere of influence"? I never heard of this. Does that imply they could have stopped the quarry from proceeding if they didnt give it up. Simply asking.
Popeye September 06, 2012 at 11:08 PM
2011 Temecula $81,245 115K population Corona: $80,851 150K population City of Riverside, Palms Springs and Palm Desert is too low to even be a contendar...
Chris September 06, 2012 at 11:49 PM
Everyone that opposes this quarry write up a professional letter no more that 2000 characters. Cut and paste this to all Riverside County Board Members, San Diego FBI Office, all CA State Assembly Members, House of Represenative Members, and Senators. I would also call the ghostbusters. jk. Let everyone above know how pissed you are about this quarry being shoved down your throat.
Blondie422 September 07, 2012 at 12:11 AM
Its Back!! Eminent Domain Bill and a new Sustainable Communities Investment Authority!! Its sitting on the Governors desk. Already passed. Call Gov. Brown and tell him "Veto" this bill. Call your city council and tell them "do not take" money from Senate Bill 1156. http://www.news10.net/rss/article/207468/2/Legislators-pass-bills-that-would-revive-redevelopment
dave September 07, 2012 at 12:25 AM
http://www.rivcodistrict2.org/opencms/contact/index.html Contact info for Tavigalone and his croonies. http://www.rivcodistrict2.org/opencms/contact/index.html How can they vote for Temecula who cant vote them out of office? Taxation with out representation.
dave September 07, 2012 at 12:32 AM
http://www.rivco4.org/web/contact/ How dare these scum approve a quarry outside their area and take campaign contributions to do so. Temecula Patch , Please keep this article on top of your web site.
Scott September 07, 2012 at 04:24 AM
Rich Loomis is so clueless to the details of this issue its almost embarrasing. Why would anyone make such shallow and ignorant comments is beyond me....I really cant wrap my head around these types of people and their poor ability to critically evaluate truth in matters. Obviously they have only been following this issue on a very superficial level.
Scott September 07, 2012 at 04:27 AM
Paul Jacobs, Is it even realistic that Temecula could actually secede to San Diego County if the counsel (Temecula) initiated a movement? I have never heard of such a thing but could the Granite injustice be the facilitator of such a bold move??
Paul Jacobs September 07, 2012 at 07:54 AM
Jim, A city cannot annex an area to stop a project, but when Temecula originally tried to annex the area within and beyond the existing sphere of influence, the quarry was early in the application process. Temecula was the appropriate Local Agency to annex the area and then be the deciding body of government on the land use decision. The City decided not to fight the County Local Agency Formation Commission for this right to local control. It would have made for a great court battle, but the City declined to fight until they were down on the canvas.
Paul Jacobs September 07, 2012 at 08:04 AM
Scott, not really and San Diego supervisors would probably be even more eager than our own county "representatives" to stick a quarry outside of Temecula along the county line. A better idea might be to split Riverside County into two or more counties since Supervisor John Benoit has already taken action to divide people and pit regions of the county against one another.
Tarmack September 07, 2012 at 11:34 AM
Maybe it is time for a recall. After all, actions speak louder than words. You might be surprised as to how much support you have. I have been part of a couple of recalls before, both ended in a way that benefitted the citizens and their voices were heard loud and clear. I found the key is to get a dedicated group of people together first.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »